eBook - My Site

eBook - Amazon

eBook - Smashwords

Paper - coming soon

Audio - coming soon

Everybody was young once. Even the most confident people were once uncertain, the most ferocious were once frightened, and the most competent were once naive. We all met our best friends somewhere and not always under the best conditions.

In this collection of short stories from the world of Panamindorah, Silveo meets Basil, Silas meets Percy, Anaroo meets Gwain, Gus meets Silas, and Gerard prepares to meet Thessalyn. Dakar and Theseus are tiny children, caught up in the machinations of others; Glossy makes impossibly difficult decisions for herself and her child; and Marlie struggles with the ghosts of her past and present. All of them will find their places in the world, often far from where they started. For the moment, however, they are doing everything for the first time.

These stories will make the most sense if you have read The Guild of the Cowry Catchers series and The Scarlet Albatross. However, if you haven’t read one or both of those stories, you’ll still understand most of what’s going on. The titles in this collection are: Harbor Wave, Dark Heart, Quarantine, Taking Tricks, Anaroo of the Defiance, Letter of Reference, Chimera, Fire From Heaven, and Ghosts.

Anaroo is an airship slave, destined to spend her days running on a treadmill, winding the great springs of the Scarlet Albatross. When a storm threatens to sink the ship, Anaroo and her fellow slaves seize the opportunity to escape. Now, at last, she can go home.

However, the airship nearly sank for a reason—violent unrest among the island kingdoms below. The world is changing and the surviving inhabitants of the Scarlet Albatross will need to cooperate to survive. Anaroo and the slaves form an uneasy truce with the strange collection of ship’s officers and passengers, none of whom are what they seem.

Together, the mismatched crew will take the Scarlet Albatross on the most harrowing flight of her career—through storms, pirates, bloodshed, and war. In the end, none of them may be able to go home.

The Refugees series is related to the Guild of the Cowry Catchers series and occurs immediately after the events in those books. However, Albatross is a suitable entry point into the world of Panamindorah. You can enjoy this book even if you’ve never read any other Panamindorah novels.


Paper Book

Audio Book